• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question 3M Vinyl Consistent Problems

pistolcoulson

Hello, I have been using 3M IJ180 CV3 for about 7 years now and since late 2015 I have been having more and more instances of the same problem. I have posted pictures to hopefully help with the description but basically there are random areas where the backing will not stick and it seems like the bubble just moves down the air channel leaving lines of unstuck vinyl (see pic). Early on I contacted our suppliers and they contacted 3M who told them that the manufacturer who makes their adhesive had gone out of business and 3M was having trouble finding a new supplier. After a few returned rolls the problem eventually got better but for about 6 months now it is worse than ever. Another difference I am noticing is the reverse side (adhesive side) of the new rolls of vinyl have dark grey streaks in them where it used to be all a solid grey color (see pic). We are purchasing from 2 different vendors and are having the same problems from both. Anyway, has anyone else been having this problem? Also, what is another good option for long lasting outdoor vinyl to be applied to vehicles? Thank you for your help!

Attachments

• IMG_2414.jpg
    IMG_2414.jpg
    29.1 KB · Views: 563
  • IMG_2667.jpg
    IMG_2667.jpg
    54.1 KB · Views: 433

jfiscus

Rap Master
Never had a problem with it sticking, but we get occaisional streaks.splatters/etc on the adhesive. it seems every roll's laminate is a varying degree of gray though.

AKwrapguy

I too have noticed the dark grey stripes or even drops on the back of the film recently and we get ours direct from 3m. I have not noticed an issue with performance yet.