• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Agfa Anapurna MW - Full Ink Drain & Flushing Procedure

GrafexDesigns

I've recently acquired an Agfa Anapurna MW. I'm a newbie to UV flatbed/hybrids but have been running a sign shop for many years. When I bought it last month the printheads seemed to be in good working condition from the test prints we did (except white which has been shut off). We did the "long term" shutdown procedure but not 100% that we did it correctly. It had to sit in storage covered and wrapped for 4 weeks while we moved to a new location and got proper power requirements setup. I've got it printing but am having a lot of banding and the black only works sometimes. I've made vast improvements in the last couple days from the first prints however I've gotten to a point where they aren't really getting better.

I suspect that the ink in the machine is pretty old so I'm thinking it is a combination of sitting for a month and these old inks. I've ordered 5 liters of Nazdar 7001 UV maintenance solutions and am thinking I should completely drain what is in there and flush completely with maintenance fluid and replace with the newer 7470 inks. Does anyone know the best way to completely drain one of these machines? It doesn't really explain this procedure in the manual.