• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Free Jv3-160sp With Head Issues Worth The Investment?

debeer920

Hello. This is my first time post to the forum and could use some advice. I have an opportunity to get a JV3-160sp for free. The machine powers on and everything works fine except for the heads. All of the heads seem to be clogged. The owner said first the cyan started to become spotty then the rest of them took a dump all at once.The owner bought a new machine and just wants to scrap it. It has been unplugged and sitting for a few weeks. I've checked prices on heads from digiprint and to replace them all it would be roughly $2400. Would this be a wise investment or just let him scrap it?

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
Scrap it. These machines have been riding on their last legs for years now. It's time for them to retire. They were work horses when they were new and one of the most popular machines but age has caught up with them.

MikePro

yeah, could be a can o' worms. If the heads took a dump at once, there may be other issues that require service as well, aside from the 8-12hrs you'll spend replacing the heads in the first place (i could do it in <6hr, no big deal).

If you're feelin' froggy, and it's truly a FREE machine, you could take it off his hands, disassemble, and package up certain high$$$ parts like motors/boards/cards/power/etc. that may be worth listing on ebay. its still what I intend to do with my Jv3 that's just been sitting in a closet since I upgraded.
otherwise, at $2400+your valuable time, you're nearly on your way to a NEW printer. (well, at least a new-previous year's model)

New2Fabric

Buy printhead and put it in yourself. And it will be alot less than 2400 ... And they usually come with instructions.

debeer920