• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Light boxes / LED Channel letters & UL

reQ

I had discussion with one of my new customers, he is an electrician. He did some electrical work for friend of mine, specifically wired a light box, with was manufactured by a welding shop. He claims that as long as he is using UL ir CSA listed parts its all legal etc & does not have to be re-certified etc.

I am not an electrician, but for some reason i think a complete enclosure such as light box or channel letter, has to carry is own cUL/CSA label? Or UL listed parts installed by licensed electrician is enough? Did any one have any experience with this situation & inspectors?

GaSouthpaw

Profane and profane accessories.
Well before all the "UL is a scam" posts start popping up, a possible answer to your question:
I think the channel letter/light box/whatever have to have their own UL certificate, because- even with UL listed parts- you could still have someone putting them together who doesn't know what they're doing or does it incorrectly and causes a hazard.
As for the repair/install side, I have not run into an issue where an electrician had to be UL certified (though I'm sure it comes up). I would think, yes- installing UL certified materials covers that instance. They do, however, normally have to have current certification as an electrician.

reQ

I am just going by my own experience. Once we refubrished the box, gutted old tubes ballasts etc & installed LED lights, we had to get it certified again. All i am asking - If some one takes a box/channel letter & installed UL listed electric components in it, i think it is still not legal to be installed

MikePro