• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Mike R.

Good morning,

I am a new member with Signs101. Just want to introduce and tell a little about myself; I am a instructor/teacher at a Career Tech Program in Athens, AL, I have been teaching for 22 years, l love my job. I teach Collision Repair Technology. I have an average of 40 to 50 students per year, (2 classes per day, AM and PM). With the growing technology in today's world and the changing of young people's work habits, the need to stay ready and on top of all new technology is overwhelming. Over the last several years I have seen many changes in the automotive industry, from plain simple vehicles to vehicles with over 300 computers on-board, vehicles that drive themselves, to all types of lifesaving warning systems. The refinishing systems and colors have been blown out of the water, from brilliant colors to flat black mat. Custom painting is a dying art and is being replaced with vinyl wraps.

I made a push a couple years ago to get my school on board to purchase a vinyl wrap machine. I knew nothing about vehicle wrapping other than it looked great and I thought it would be an interest to my students. So, with a little convincing one was purchased. I got what was in a package deal (value jet 1204 Mutoh, Q54 Cutter, and a Enduro Laminator). The first real project we wrapped (march 2016) was school bus. Nothing really elaborate, just kept it simple. The students and I had a great time with it. Well, summer came and then the start of school, fall of 2016. All has been going well. Now I am having printing issues. Seems from all I am reading, I either have print head or waste station problem.

Mike R.

The Big Squeegee

Long Time Member