• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Suggestions UV Printing

billsines

Hello, I am a signmaker by trade, but have recently entered the world of UV printing with a Stratojet Shark FB1212. I'm hoping it proves to be an asset to our current lineup of products.

So what I do is generate generic sign layouts in photoshop/illustrator. The kind of products we sell are wall decor/home decor types of signs for general public consumption. For instance, I make a 5.75"x8" sign that says "Coffee: Always a Good Idea", you know, generic home decor type stuff. Then I send it over to my printer to print multiple pieces of this sign.

So what I'm trying to do is increase the number of parts per hour I can generate. I have tried playing with the resolution in caldera. I currently have two profiles loaded by the printer manufacturer, 600x600 and 600x900. So when I RIP the artwork, 600x600 over to the print controller, I can go with 4pass, 8pass, etc. 600x900 allows 6pass, 12pass, etc. I have tried developing my own 300x300 profile, which allows 2pass option, but I can't get the density needed out of my ink. Strangely, 300x300 allows a 4 pass option, but the ink density seems to be the same. 300x300 does give me a faster print time, but a faded and light print.

So I'm back to artwork set up. Are there other settings in photoshop I can use that will somehow allow a faster print time? Any other ideas?

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Is there any particular reason you need to do these little signs printed faster ?? Top speed like that is generally for low end temporary crap. The size sign you mentioned, we could print in about 3 minutes at a good mode. It'll take more time to set it all up, then anything else.