• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

3m 8508 - Possible Shorten roll?!

JP4

Ok...I finally purchased me a "big boy" laminator couple weeks ago. I was set on a RS as my first machine but found a smokin deal on a Ustech MVT 500 that I couldn't pass up.
So here we go...
I bought a 150' roll of 3mij35c and a 150' of 8508 Lam. from Fellars. When I received the films I noticed that the Lam roll looked a little smaller but discounted that thought to the possibility that the backer was thinner that I was used to. First out of the gate It took a few feet to get the machine threaded up....maybe 4-5 ft. I laminated 20ft section with out any issued...which I was very surprised since I have never used auto laminator before. -Long story short.- I ran out of lam film with over 50ft of ij35 left in my printer. I know I used more lam than print vinyl but there is no possible way I used 50+ more feet of lam than I did of print vinly(ij35c) I started with both rolls fresh new ones...I figured I used 2-3 ft of lam per thread..I threaded 3 times. Something just don't add up. Any thoughts?

SignMeUpGraphics

Super Active Member
8508 is a lot thinner than IJ35, so the difference in roll diameter was probably correct.
Not sure why you ran out so much earlier though.

Christian @ 2CT Media

Welcome to 3M products... It's almost always the case. We've had rolls that were 25+ feet short and we know simply because we printed 145' on the print roll and ran out far short.

WB

I used to constantly run out of lam no matter what the brand. I always wanted to test keeping 1 roll on the machine and testing it out but it never happened.