• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Am I Nuts?

BJVT

I'm trying to evaluate a small sign business I'm considering buying. It's a one man shop where the owner has had health problems and the business is in decline. The price sounds good (under 50k) until you see he made under 10k the last few years but it sounds like he has a fairly substantial customer list and a dozen or so years of sign designs. The primary equipment is a Roland sp 300 v with sign lab 7 software, and a Graphtec 30" vinyl cutter with Gerber Omega software (not sure what version yet).

The other issue is that I have no sign making experience beyond buying some for a previous business and no formal graphic arts training. I did do most of the marketing for our previous business and know my way around page layout software fairly well. I've also worked as a craft artist and understand color reasonably well but that's as far as my qualifications go.

The owner said he would provide training for a few weeks and be on call for questions. It's a small town and rural clientel and not overly sophisticated overall. There are a few competitors but nothing very serious looking as far as I can tell. So, am I crazy for considering this or does this sound like a doable prospect?

CP Signs