• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Anybody tiled a job to a vj1204 using Photoprint

jimgoodwin

I want to qualify this and explain I am not a pro when it comes to signs and banners, I am a highschool teacher with a really fun program. I teach everything from screen printing, to studio photography, laser engraving, cut vinyl, Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign. We make over 100 banners and signs and screen print over 10,000 shirts a year.

Last year I stepped up my program a bit and purchased a VJ1204 printer which has made a big difference in our quality of product we can turn out. Students have been making tons of banners over the past year but I thought it was time to try printing stickers and do a wall mural. I usually jump in way over my head, so here goes...

I am placing a 233in x 83in graphic on a concrete wall. Using Arlon DPF8000 (only 30in wide) laminated with oraguard 210. I figure 9 vertical panels printed at 28" with a 1 inch overlap on each edge.

Problem I am getting is that my version of Sai PhotoPrint has no options for tiling (there is no tiling tab at all) so I figured I would output the files into individual PDFs using Illustrator's tiling dialog, then just manualy flip every other one as I output the files.

Has anyone else tried this with a VJ1204?
Does what I am doing make sense or am I way off base?
Anything else I need to think about as I do this project?

Thanks for the help everyone! I will post a picture when we are done, I am really excited to see it come together.

FrankW

The only PhotoPRINT (SE) not available with tiling can be upgraded with the tiling feature. I don't know the tiling dialog in Illustrator, but with the PhotoPRINT-Tiling option an overlap can be set or tiling marks.

jimgoodwin