• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Anyone familiar with Azek Sheeting?

Gary Wiant

I'm new to CNC so I'm not super familiar with all types of PVC. I have a customer that wants to sell me 74 sheets of Azek PVC I need to go in today and look at it. I was told it is either 1/2" or either 3/4" smooth on one side wood grain textured on the other side.

Is this stable enough to use for exterior routed signs?

Is it structurally stable enough to build furniture from?

How does it route?

Thanks
Gary

Johnny Best

He has sheets? I have used the decking tongue and groove for finishing signs. It is harder than your typical sign PVC.
Will last a long time outside. It is structurally strong.
Never tried routing it but saws cut it nicely.

Gary Wiant

Yes 4'x8' sheets it is a housing manufacturer & they had houses they had to cut it down on a table saw & use it for exterior trim on. Now the contract is done & they want to get rid of it. I saw online that 3/8" & 1/2" should be mounted solid &not used for trim so I'm hoping it is 3/4" I'm just not sure where I'll store 74 sheets of it.

billsines

I have never done Azek before, but a few thoughts:

I doubt it's the right material for furniture. Tons of builders around here use the recycled milk jug plastic to make their outdoor furniture. No one is using Azek.

I have CNC'd the recycled milk jug plastic before, and it is NOT same thickness throughout, so if you are V-Carving and Azek is the same way, you are in for one real headache.

V-Carving fine lettering on the wood grain side may give you the same kind of headache.

So if it routs well, what happens after? Paint? Will any paint adhere to this stuff?