• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Applying laminated vinyl to ACM question

SignShopDave

I have a sign that I am making for a client. I am covering the old logo on the sign board they used in the past.

I am going to use some Arlon SLX cast wrap and cast laminate that I have here in the shop. should I cut the edges 1.8 inch from each edge of the ACM or wrap it around the back side a bit? I want it to last as long as possible.

I am new to this stuff all I have ever used was cast vinyl in the past never this print and laminate stuff.

untitled

I think it's a little overkill to be using the Arlon SLX vinyl for this but if it's just scrap you are using up sure why not. Not sure why you would trim an 1/8" from the edge or wrap around the ACM. I'd just take my knife and trim along the edge. If you are really worried then just put some Primer 94 along the edge.

If the old logo is cut vinyl I'd be more worried about being able to see the height difference from the old logo in the vinyl that is covering it. I would remove the old logo first.

SignShopDave

Thanks. the old logo is printed so worries and this will be seen at a distance. The company said to just go over the old stuff. What print vinyl and laminate do you recommend? If there is a cheaper option ill buy a roll to have in stock. I called my supplier and that is what she sold me.

eahicks

Magna Cum Laude - School of Hard Knocks
I cut 1/8" from edge.
I don't get why you'd do this. Why not just make your print 47.75" x 95.75" and inset it? And what if the image is full bleed? Then you have a thin white border around it.
We just trim to the edge. Never have an issue.

TravinFlavin