• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Artist wants to cut...

Keith Patton

Hey all,
Im an artist and am going to try ACM (dibond) as a painting surface. I don't have and can't afford expensive equipment.

I'm curious if it's possible to handcut the dibond into organic shapes with an xacto or utility knife? By that I mean, I'd like to cut the dibond into shapes like a letter, or flower, or person, etc.

I'm also wondering if it's possible to bond another piece of ACM to the polyester side of the dibond? Meaning, can I have a larger piece of dibond, and then glue/bond a smaller piece on top, so I can paint on both "levels" so to speak?

Thanks!

JTBoh

I sell signage and signage accessories.
Dremel would work.
Keep in mind that all ACM has a ~.012 face of aluminum on each side, and that the edge is visible. Also keep in mind that all cuts should be vertical so that that edge doesn't become more pronounced.

Why not PVC? Or wood? Both are much better for painting and carving.

Marlene

Not too sure what you mean "the polyester side" of the Dibond. If you have real Dibond it has aluminum front and back and yes, you can layer it. Not too sure hand cutting shapes would be all the easy or look that great. You could try a jig saw and might get better results. Why not wood or PVC?

Gino

Premium Subscriber
As the others have mentioned, it's not good for hand cutting and it's not at all good for painting, if you're an artsy kinda guy. Using brushes, stippling brushes and/or fans won't produce nice results, as there is no tooth on that substrate for your paint to adhere. Spraying and even rolling on paint will work, but not artists paints, not for the most part.