• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Bad Tracking And Skew Cuts

Callum Lott

Hi all ,

this is my first time opening a thread here and I'm hoping desperately for some help .

I am using a Summacut D140R for cutting labels along a CutContour set in Adobe Illustrator .

Printer : HP Latex 330

Software : Onyx 11

The problem is that my labels in the middle of the sheet are cutting way off where they should be. This , to me (Even as a youngun with Summa) , screams bowing. Alas i am not getting the correct cuts no matter what i change it to.

How do I measure how much "Bow" is happening , and what are the correct steps to ensure i am cutting on my contours?

After everything I've tried I am now starting to think it's a physical problem with the machine. e.g. Hardware/MOBO/skew grit rollers etc.

PS : The substrate is : Orajet 3164G-010 @ 1 meter wide rolls. and cuts are made off sheets not rolls.

HEEEEEELP

Callum Lott

Dennis422

usually you have to add a Straightness optimization setting on your HP printer.
Mine is set at -0.6.
That compensates for vinyl distortion that comes from the heat of the printer while curing.

ProPDF

Call summa so they can sell you the required amount of over priced pinch rollers you actually need to hold down the material properly instead what they actually supply with their new cutters..... plus slow things down and calibrate it properly. Add a good amount of bleed to your prints too if you are not already.

PHILJOHNSON

Sales Manager