• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Big time newbie starting business making magnetic signs

Apachedesert

Hello, I'd really appreciate advice on a number of topics. First, I just bought an HP 5000PS 60 inch plotter. It is a monster. Is this a good printer to print on vinyl for magnetic vehicle signs? I know it's overkill, but I bought it with the anticipation of branching out beyond magnetic signs one day. Also, it has Adobe Postscript 3 on it, and I see this software is not compatible with more modern windows operating systems. Is is best for me to use a dedicated laptop with Windows 2000, for example? And finally, I am a total rookie at all this. I am a fast learner, but tend to learn best by actually doing it, as opposed to reading a manual. Can anyone suggest an individual or a class I could take in a week or so to learn how to make magnetic signs? I would be okay with traveling anywhere within 500 miles of Raleigh NC, and getting a hotel and learning. Any one of you experts, perhaps? Perhaps I could be a fly on the wall and learn without slowing down your business. I'd really appreciate help. Thank you, Doug

SignManiac

Mags are easy. Charge between $24.95 and $250.00 a pair. Warn the customer that they will destroy the paint on their vehicle if they don't take them off regularly and clean both the back of the mags and the vehicle. Contour cut with an exacto blade if need be.

Johnny Best

This is what I purchased when starting out. magdummies.jpg

BigfishDM

Merchant Member