• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Boat graphics removal/install

gnubler

I'm bidding on a job to redo the graphics on this boat (see picture) and need some advice. The original vinyl is flaking off, so it all needs to be removed and a similar design installed. I want to go with cut vinyl only, a metallic blue and metallic silver (no metallized chrome and no printing). The customer is okay with that as long as the swoosh design is somewhat similar. Is Oracal 951 a good product choice for boat graphics?

I've never done a removal on a boat before - how do I approach this to bid it correctly? I have a feeling it's going to take more than a heat gun and a scraper. How do you handle oxidation/discoloration showing? I'm going to look at the boat this week to take some measurements and check out the condition of the existing vinyl. It's in a garage, not on the water.

Any tips on taking measurements to recreate the existing swoosh shapes as closely as possible? I told them it won't be exactly the same, but pretty close.

Attachments

• 20200430_162243.jpg
    20200430_162243.jpg
    293.8 KB · Views: 556

visual800

first off metallic vinyl not a good choice especially on watercraft...nonetheless if this were my job I would take pic of boat side view , straight on and replicate stripes on computer and then size them out to match existing.

As far removal I use razor and alcohol as with everything . I can also buff the area under the stripes if there is fading. Fiberglass is soft if you have never removed tell them to hire someone experienced to do it, you can cut into it pretty easy

rjssigns

Could also try steam for removal.