• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Buying a Cutter !

Ham_Ray

Hello there, I'm excited as a new member to up my first post.
I'm a graphic designer and recently opened my own sign/print business. I feel the severe need for a cutter/plotter. I'm confused with all the different models available in the market.
Apparently my choices for a 40" cutter are :
  • Roland GX-400: $4,995 US
  • Jaguar IV : $3,900 US
  • Graphtec ???

I'm going to finance it and hopefully will get the money back in a short period.

Now my question is which one is more reliable and what should I take into consideration on buying a cutter? Any other expenses (except the supplies and vinyls) to be considered or the plotter itself comes with everything (I hear about Rip softwares - do I need one? and does it come with one or I have to buy it separately? How much is it?)

I'm browsing for days now and get more confused each day.
I appreciate if you share any help or experiences you had in this regard.

Thanks
Ray

CreatedDesigns

I would never spend 4k on a 40" cutter. Look around you can get a decent used 54" for under 2.5k. My next cutter will be a Summa, I currently have a 54" Graphtec no issues yet.

Dennis422

Summa or Graphtec.
Add a bit more money and get at least 54".

You'll thank me later :)

Welcome to the forum

GaSouthpaw

Profane and profane accessories.
I'll toss in my vote for Graphtec- and, as a number of others said, get the 54" at least.
I've also had good luck with the Mimaki CG-160FX.

2B

My first thought is.... why buy a 40" plotter? If you're financing then dish out a couple more bucks and get at least a 48".