• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Can all RIPs "combine" jobs into one larger job?

johntech

Sorry for the probably dumb question as I'm new to RIP software...

Let's say you have a UV Printer that has a print area that can print (4) 12 inch x 12 inch squares at a time.

And let's say each square will be a different job (order).

So you have four files... Customer1, Customer2, Customer3, Customer4 -- each representing the design file for their 12x12 square print.

Will RIP software, like Rasterlink for Mimaki printers or something like Flexi, let you define the 'coordinates' of your printer area and then will it try and FIT your outstanding jobs like for example these (4) jobs that could all fit at the same time?

Or would you have to use a process to 'combine' all 4 separate design files into ONE file that will print as one job?

I guess what I'm asking in a round about way...

Is there a way (or separate software?) that can help manage individual jobs you need to print as well as a way to make use of the available space you have in your Print Area it can help combine them as necessary?

Thanks for any insights.

iPrintStuff

Prints stuff
As someone mentioned in the other thread, rasterlink has a jig function that does pretty much exactly what you want it to. It does however mean you’d have to find a way to create the jig(s) but they should also save a lot of time on layout.

I will point out that as far as a rip goes, rasterlink is the least favourite I’ve used. It does what it needs to but looks like it was made in 2003 and has way too many pages to go through to set up one job.