• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

can I varnish over vinyl lettering and which vinyl would be best?

WallSpice

Newbie here. Just posted my introduction in the welcome forum.

My question is: can I varnish over vinyl lettering and which vinyl would be best?

I have a client that wants to put a cut vinyl logo on the bottom of a few skateboards and varnish over them. He knows they'll eventually get trashed as the kids grind etc. But wants to help it last a bit longer by varnishing. Will the vinyl handle that? My fear is it will bubble or shrink, even melt?

I tried to steer him towards cutting a vinyl mask and painting the logos. He is in too big of a hurry.

Big EZ Signs LLC

My advice - don't. I used Spar Urethane on vinyl many moons ago. What it did is unmentionable. ( Ok, it looks like crap now. The vinyl is all cracked and shrunk )

Gino

Premium Subscriber
On a sign.....No. For this application.... what's it matter ??

Varnish will hold up, but the vinyl will continue to shrink causing a very ugly mess in no time. Clear it with some 'FrogJuice' and make the guy happy..... and charge extra for it.

chopper

I have used automotive clear over vinyl but not varnish,....
used spars over gold leaf but that is it, maybe you need to describe your project more to get better results //chopper

mekazilla

it won't matter what you spray on it, as soon as the vinyl slides on concrete or a rail it's going to tear. It's definitely not worth the extra time for spraying and drying if he's in a rush.

WallSpice

Thanks for all the replies. I cut the vinyl, told him I couldn't recommend varnishing. I think he found someone to get auto film from. Moved on - figured I had better things to think about.

cOrKinSA