• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

CG-130 FX Plotter Cutting Problems

CWP

Hi All,
I have the Mimaki CG-130FX plotter and I am having a heck of a time getting it to cut cleanly. I have a new 30 degree blade, my pressure is set to 100, speed at 20. I am simply trying to contour cut lettering on vinyl. I have set the blade depth to as low as it will go and still make a cut. I am not going through the backing. I have replaced the rubber strip behind the blade... The problem is that I cannot get it to cut any letters out cleanly. Circles and letters with curves tend to cut well, but the inside edges of any 90 degree cut leave tags behind where it didn't cut (aka: the part you are weeding out, is still attached to the letter). When I do the test square cut, it never comes out clean... What am I doing wrong? Am I missing something? I am new to the machine, and people who worked here before said it used to work great! Never a problem. I haven't made any changes to the setup/configuration; I have only changed the blade! Anybody got an idea? Thanks!

Maybe I will just go with :bushmill:

PDD

firstly are you 100 percent sure that the knife holder is a real mimaki one. I have a mimaki cutter and even with cheap chinese blades it cuts just great. There are two cutting selftests built into the cutter, have you run those and set your offset 10 110 0.3 works for me with avery vinyl. Use a credit card as a measuring tool and set knife to protrude no more than 1/3 - 1/2 the thickness of a credit card. That will get you in the right ballpark for your knife blade setup. Hope that helps. -Brent

CWP

I will give it a try. Based on your blade depth recommendation, I might be too long... I have no idea if it is a "mimaki" blade holder. It looks like one!

Smacka