• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

CNC .080 mister?

skyhigh

I have never used my router to cut .080 aluminum. Is this doable without a mister? If so, then what would you suggest for bits, speed & feed?

I really have my reservations about doing this project. Any advice would be appreciated.

skyhigh

Here's an idea of what I'm doing. These (1-4) are set up for 4x8 sheets of .080.

Attachments

• CNC.080.jpg
    CNC.080.jpg
    25.4 KB · Views: 179

rjssigns

I am by no means an expert, but the first thing I would ask is how big is the job? If it is small and are using it as a test then give it a shot. Otherwise there are other factors to consider like the rigidity of the gantry etc. There is tooling for regular CNC equipment that is designed to run without coolant. In fact if you do not get it into operating temp (some are 1700F!) they will start to seize in the material.
If it is a large job that has to look good, set up the file for your local water-jet shop. Stuff comes off the 'jet with nicely finished edges. No clean-up. Just my 2 cents.

StarSign

Don't run the job without misting! That being said just go get a 2 gal sprayer from the lawn and garden area at Lowes use that as your mist system, it works great for small jobs.

CES020

I've personally talked to people that say they do this all day long every day, without coolant. I've gotten the same bits, the same speeds and feeds from them, tried it, and had no luck on some jobs and good luck on others.

What we have found is that the RPM's are critical. If we get above 8000 RPM, then problems start to happen.