• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

CNC routing 3/8" 6061 Aluminum with Kongsberg

dethsky

Is it possible to route out a 3/8" thick 6061 aluminum plate on this machine? I think it would be possible since you can set the machine to go through the material in steps. Just curious if anyone has tried or done this, I am going to try and make a sprocket guard for my 660 raptor on it instead of paying a crap load for one.

SebastienL

From my personal experience as a machinist, I wouldn't venture making precise machine parts on a router. For a sprocket, you need a very precise and rigid machine. I don't think ANY cnc router have the precision or rigidity to accomplish this. You might be able to machine it just fine, it will look like a sprocket. But I doubt it would work. The distance between each cog MUST match the chain. I assume you have calculated the diameter of the sprocket according to the pitch of the chain?...

At the very least, don't put a brand spanking new chain on it!!

MikePro

a sprocket guard need-not be that precise, it is just a cover after all.

I am unfamiliar with that machine outside of the print/cuts i've seen on gatorfoam/pvc BUT you should be able to route one no problem assuming you have the right bits for the job.
carbide tipped spiral O upcut, and a lotta passes & coolant.
big fan of a rough-pass offset from the true shape, that allows more room for the chips to flow from your final cuts, for a nice clean edge.

synergy_jim

the short answer is no. We used to machine it in our 1000 series multicam, but even it was a stretch. Now our new 3000 series, I think would run it without issue.

Ditchmiester