• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Colors Are Horrible Mutoh Valuejet 1618a Using Flexi Rip

MrsHuotte

Hello Everyone.

I have a Mutoh Printer 1618A and using the Flexi RIP.
I am very new to these printers, I am trying to print on reflective (for hard hat stickers) the colors are horrible. The color test run is horrible as well. Is there anyone who knows what settings I need to have. Maybe someone in my area that can come to my shop and could teach me how to run this machine
Any help would be very much appreciated

Thanks Brooke

eahicks

Magna Cum Laude - School of Hard Knocks
What profile are you using? Reflective is a hard one to profile, because: A. it's reflective, and B. it's not really white. Best solution I have found (and I don't print a whole lot of reflective because of this) is to print out a complete Pantone swatch on it, using the best reflective profile you can find. Then you can pick which colors work for your needs....in other words, find a red that's closest to the red you want, etc. Then create a swatch in Flexi with those colors and use it solely for printing reflective.

Correct Color

Brooke,

Well, I'm not in your area -- looking at the map, who is? -- but I can come get you profiled and teach you a good deal about using your machine.

When I get done, you'll have profiles on all your media that will work, yes including reflective, you'll have a rock-solid color workflow, you'll have a good understanding of using your RIP and the printing process, and you'll have lifetime free tech support.