• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

ColorSpan or Gerber Solara?

FLSignMan

Hi guys.

I'm new to the signage world, but have been tasked to research our company's entry in the UV world. Does anyone have any thoughts on the ColorSpan 5465 or Gerber Solara? I've also seen the preview on the Gerber Solara Ion, which also looks pretty interesting, albeit unproven.

Any thoughts would be most appreciated.

ScottyDoo

I don't have any knowledge on the Gerber, but the ColorSpan's are actually quite nice. I run their big brother the 9840uv, but I know these are modeled after it on a smaller scale. Great machines. ColorSpan machines can be a headache, but if you really spend your time getting to know the ins and outs of each machine they can really work well for you.

KR3signguy

The Solara, made by Fisher Price not Gerber.
I know someone who had a ColorSpan for a short period of time.
They needed something that could handle heavy production & this wasn't it. I would't consider any without a vacuum table. Wait to see what HP does with them.
All in all, you get what you pay for.
Good luck

Flame

I don't own one, but talked to a dealer who sold both. They were really pushing the Solara. Saw prints from them both, and the Solara had some really nice looking prints.

If their price is similiar (can't remember pricing), I'd go with the Solara.

darinbushman

Well, I was talking with my rep last week, he has a brand new solara that he would give away as the new Ion is going to come out 20k cheaper than the solara... Gerber is advising them to discount the crap out of any models they have in inventory... I would guess the ion is going to be better faster etc.. but now might be the time to get a great buy on a solara...

Steve Prince