• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Computer networking

Eric H

Our showroom and workshop have been in separate buildings but within wifi range of each other. The workshop has moved down the road and is now out of wifi range. My question is what can be done to network the computers through the internet. I would like to have access to the files in each shop. Don't really want online storage or cloud storage and need to depend on someone putting the files there.The little bit of research I have done looks like some sort of VPN might work but I have no experience with them. Saw a few programs that may work but would like to hear from anyone that has experience with this.

GB2

Old Member
Look into GoToMyPC, I use it to work between 3 different locations and don't know how I'd operate without it. Last year I was actually sending print jobs and operating machines in my shop while driving on a bus in Italy using GoToMyPC, it was amazing.

Eric H

But can you transfer files from one computer to another. I don't really need remote access/control.

WildWestDesigns

But can you transfer files from one computer to another. I don't really need remote access/control.

Technically speaking you do want remote access and control, otherwise you can't transfer.

We use a Qnap to share all the files within the office to the shop, but it within one building, so it's really just network access, not internet access for us.

You can setup to access over the internet, however, you do run the risk of more "attacks" to gain access/control and then lock you out. Main reason why we don't do have outside access to the Qnap.

Eric H