• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Converting complex jpg into eps

Waynohiggy

Hi good people. Im new to all this printing stuff but Im looking for a way to convert a complex jpg of a racing motorcycle to an eps file so i can alter the size and print for the side of a customers van, wandered if any of you guys know a quick reliable way of doing this.. I have Corel Draw X5, signlab 10 and Roland versaworks

I use Inkscape, which is open source software, to convert jpeg images to vector and it works quite well. There are videos on Youtube that show how that process works. You might have to fiddle with the settings a few times to achieve the desired results, but I've done traces of photos and the eps file looks nearly identical to a photo-realistic image, even upon close examination.

2B

Corel has a built-in tracing function.
again depending on the complexity or how you need it, you will have to adjust the settings and/or clean up the converted file

The Vector Doctor does this service and has always been excellent

Here is an image of an original jpeg image with a lot of detail and below is the resulting eps file after I did an Inkscape bitmap trace in 36 colors.

Attachments

• Face 1.jpg
    Face 1.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 320

AKwrapguy

Hi good people. Im new to all this printing stuff but Im looking for a way to convert a complex jpg of a racing motorcycle to an eps file so i can alter the size and print for the side of a customers van, wandered if any of you guys know a quick reliable way of doing this.. I have Corel Draw X5, signlab 10 and Roland versaworks

Some times the auto trace will work but other times it's worthless. You might need to just draw it by hand. I know it's sucks but sometimes that's the only way to do it.