• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Converting raster image to vector for contour cutting

smhdesigns

Ok guys/gals, I'm opening the door for all your ridicule and sharp as a blade comments with this one....I am fairly new to the business so please keep that in mind. I'm trying to learn the knowledge so that someday I might be as knowledgeable as the "SIGN GODS" that answer questions here. When I purchased my equipment/software it was suppose to come with tech support and training and I got neither. I currently outsource all my 4/0 4/4 color prints as I only have a Anagraph AE-60E. SO let me get to the question at hand...

A customer sent me a file (PDF) that he wants printed and contour cut. The image is a raster and needs to be converted to vector. In the past I have used "Vector Magic" to send my artwork to and have it converted. But this job in particular has been a challenge. The file is very high quality but not to scale. When I scale the image to size and try to upload it tells me file is to large???? I tried using Adobe Photoshop 7.0 and scale it to size then flatten the image and save it using jpeg encoding to a smaller file. (I do know PS is only a raster based program)
But to no avail the file was still to large. Is it possible to use my Design Art Pro 3.5 to do this? Is there a tutorial somewhere for using my DA 3.5 somewhere so that I can learn ALL the functions it has available?

Let the games begin and open war on the newbie.....

Yours Truly,

Design Art 3.5 Challenge/Vector Art Challenged Newbie

CES020