• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Corian sandblasting before paint

Alexis

Think-Design-Create
Hey to all of you,
I am relatively new to sign making,and kind of stressed because corian is very expensive.I have been asked to make 10'' by 15'' inch signs for elevators for one the biggest hotels in Greece.So it has be clear to perfect.
I engrave them and then cut them with my CNC machine.Then I paind the letters inside and then sand the whole piece so colors stays inside letters and the rest of the area is sanded corian.Do you know if sandblasting corian after cnc and before painting will give me better surface for painting the letters so as to last longer?Now I have just primered the letters and painted them with acrylics paint for cars.

Attachments

• IMG_20171005_141240.jpg
    IMG_20171005_141240.jpg
    731.6 KB · Views: 256

fixtureman

Hey to all of you,
I am relatively new to sign making,and kind of stressed because corian is very expensive.I have been asked to make 10'' by 15'' inch signs for elevators for one the biggest hotels in Greece.So it has be clear to perfect.
I engrave them and then cut them with my CNC machine.Then I paind the letters inside and then sand the whole piece so colors stays inside letters and the rest of the area is sanded corian.Do you know if sandblasting corian after cnc and before painting will give me better surface for painting the letters so as to last longer?Now I have just primered the letters and painted them with acrylics paint for cars.

You can scrape the paint with a razor blade then just a little touch up with some fine sand paper

letterman7