• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Cutting .080 Aluminum - How?

Barry Jenicek

Hey RouterHeads

I am wanting to cut out a few sign blanks using .080 aluminum sheets. I’ve never done this before so I thought I would pass this by those of you who have.

So here are my questions…

1. Are there different types of .080 aluminum…meaning, are there “softer/harder” grades? If so, what is it called?

2. What type of bit do you use? (Brand Name & Part Nbr?

3. What speed do you run you router?

4. What RPM?

5. Do you use a Spray Mister?

6. What are some of the things you have produced?

7. Additional comments you might have.

Thanks for taking the time.

Barry

Signs by Unique llc

Stacey K

I like making signs
I cut .040 with my circular saw. I take the .080 to the local heating place and for a couple bucks they shear it for me. I couldn't get the above link to load.

Evan Gillette

Aluminum sheet can be a few different alloys (often referred to as "series" ie: "3000 series") for example Grimco's painted .080 sheets are 3003-h14 alloy (3003 alloy and "h14" designates the temper of the material)
https://www.grimco.com/Catalog/Products/AluminumPanels

3000 and 5000 series are common (3003 and 5052) for sheets. You can look up comparison tables for figuring out the best option for what you are doing with it (bending, farming, drawing, machining etc.) just google "aluminum alloy characteristics".