• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Cutting 1" acrylic

SignMonger

Does anyone have any tips on cutting 1" acrylic letters with a 1/2" bit. I have been adjusting my feeds and speeds to try and eliminate all the heat on the bit. Right now I'm at 475 ipm with 14000 rpm. I've been adjusting to get a larger chip hoping that will cool the bit but the more I experiment, the more I wonder if it's just a matter of the pocket being so deep that I will not be able to cool the bit with bigger chips. This is my first time cutting 1" acrylic letters and I can't find any info out there about routing 1". Is anyone even doing this? My boss handed this job to me last minute due to the fact that the waterjet company we normally send this stuff to busy and would charge us a rush fee due to a tight deadline.

I'm using Onsrud 60-249 1/2" bit and 1" clear acrylic.
Any advice is much appreciated! Like I said, I've never done this and I'm not sure if others do this or not.

Thank you in advance!!

WB

is that 475 inches per minute?.. seems awfully fast. My 1st thoughts would be 80-100 at 15000-18000rpm.

thickest I've cut is 1/2" though with a 1/4" bit.

Also I use single flute bits.

try 400ipm at 18000rpm like this video

[video=youtube;ra00bFLlYB0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ra00bFLlYB0[/video]

SignMonger

Yes, that's inches per minute. I used a speed/feed calculator that got me to 432 ipm at 16000 rpm. I kept adjusting from there because I was still getting a lot of heat built up and not very large chips.

GaSouthpaw

Profane and profane accessories.
I second the opinion that you're going far too fast (with too low a spindle speed, too).