• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Design Help For Beginner

Dakes2

I am just starting out in this field of sign making and could do with some advice on designing a simple no parking sign for my friend, I am going to use landscape a4 size pvc sheet for the sign and want to use my vinyl cutter to make the wording, there will be two colours of wording, red and white, the white lettering will be overlaid on top of a red rectangular panel, and I need to cut these parts out separately, but when I do a preview in my signcut program its cutting everything out as one piece, any advice on where to start and how to do it please

Gary Wiant

I'm not sure what software you are using but you have the background & lettering combined into the same shape. My recommendation would be watch trading videos on-line until you understand how the software works this is a very simple procedure that you should be able to learn watching training videos.

Good luck

I am just starting out in this field of sign making and could do with some advice on designing a simple no parking sign for my friend, I am going to use landscape a4 size pvc sheet for the sign and want to use my vinyl cutter to make the wording, there will be two colours of wording, red and white, the white lettering will be overlaid on top of a red rectangular panel, and I need to cut these parts out separately, but when I do a preview in my signcut program its cutting everything out as one piece, any advice on where to start and how to do it please

Johnny Best

You have to have a vector (cut lines) for the red box and one for the copy which needs to be in front of red.
The plotter will cut the box lines and then the copy lines then peel out the copy letters leaving the red box with white copy.
parking.jpg