• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Diving In - Need some Wrapping Pointers

timnancyk

Hello all. I've been a graphic designer for over 30 years...been designing wraps for over 10 years. I really want to dive into the wrapping business and start making more $$$ then just designing them. Plus, I'm a DIY guy and would love to learn the installing. It would also be nice to get out from behind that darn computer all day.

So I will probably go the "wholesale printer" route. Meaning, I will outsource the printing and do the design and installs...BUT I want to weight my options here. I would love to understand "what" I need if I wanted to do the printing. What are the "must haves" and the best mid-level printers and materials I would need to get started? Will I "really" make a considerable amount of $$$$ printing myself? I would be leasing the printer of course. So I would take that into consideration along with the materials and ink.

As it is now, I make an average of $300-$500 on just doing the design. If I outsource the printing, I believe I can make about $1500 to $2000, depending on the type of wrap. What is the average one could profit by printing their own wraps rather then outsourcing? What are all the cost involved when doing your own printing...printer, ink, wrap materials, etc. I'm not even sure of all the equipment and materials I need when printing and/or installing. So here are a few questions I have...

1. What is the best mid-level printer on the market? (I will be using 3M wrapping products)
2. What are the costs involved when buying inks and what are the best?
3. What types of wrapping materials are needed for printing wraps? (vinyl, laminating, etc.)
4. What types of tools are necessary to do installs?