• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Epson S80600 metallic/white quality

Tatonka

We are looking to purchase an S80600 shortly, but I'm having a hard time sourcing any samples of white or metallic prints. I know the white won't compare in opacity or brightness to our Roland UV printers, but I'm curious just how well it can do white, as well as metallic colors. Does anyone here do white or metallic on a regular basis and can show a picture of how it turns out?

I'm just getting started in the printing side of our business, and trying to learn as much as I can. My only experience has been running our Roland UV printers, and a little bit of our Roland eco-sol printers, but never really anything other than create a file in illustrator and hit print with the settings that are most commonly used. I need to look into color profiling and who knows what else.

unclebun

We were told the S70670 could do colored metallics, and were shown sample prints when we went to the product intro at our supplier. The samples looked very pretty. However, in practice we have not been successful at making pretty metallic colors with it. Metallic silver is also not UV stable, so it's essentially wasted on our printer since it cannot be used for signs left outdoors. It's just an extra $220 we have to throw away every 7-9 months. The other problem with it is that it requires a high pass print setting, and makes printing take forever. In almost 6 years of owning the machine, I've probably printed fewer than 20 jobs that used metallic silver as a color.