• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

EstiMate and Windows 10

Jean Shimp

Will EstiMate software run correctly on Windows 10? I have been using this software for several years. I tried going on their website to find answers but their "support" link does not seem to be working.

Kottwitz-Graphics

nope.

I just ran into that issue a few months ago when my windows 8.1 laptop hinge broke (gotta love hp laptops). I searched for another laptop that had windows 8, and had no luck. So I had to go to Windows 10, and it will not run Estiate. Nor would it run Corel 15, so I had to upgrade to Corel 18, in addition to put Estimate on my old desktop that is running XP, and am limited to doing estimates at the office, and not have the convenience of being on my laptop.

WildWestDesigns

With the rolling release nature of Win 10, I wouldn't expect any legacy software to actually still be viable on that platform indefinitely.

If you still require legacy software, for whatever reason, it's going to be best to VM the older OS at this point (I'm not a fan of dual booting or keeping legacy hardware around).

Win 10, for quite a few reasons, is actually not the best platform for a production environment. Just the rolling release nature of it in the first place kills it in that regard. At least, if you require a modern version of Windows and you keep a VM of your production software, that can, to a degree, isolate the woes of Win 10 and it's rolling release fubars.

WildWestDesigns

I have no clue what you just said.