• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Frosted Vinyl Help

jkdbjj

Hi everyone, I have a customer that I have been applying frosted vinyl for, for the last 4 years. However, it is usually small amounts here and there, mostly on store fronts. Even then I rarely get a perfect install, without a tiny bubble or two. You can't really pop those bubbles, cause the damage spot never goes away with frosted material.

Anyway, customer has never mentioned it, but I am a perfectionist.

All these jobs are small, but somewhat intricate words or graphics with the material. I have a much bigger job coming up. So here is what I wanted to ask you all.

Wet or Dry? I was told to NEVER do wet on this material, so I never do. Only dry for me so far.
I use a regular tac premask, white colored, nothing fancy.

What tips or tricks can you offer? Should I use a particular premask for better results? Should I use a particular squeegee technique? Should I try the big squeegee?

I have used oracal 8510 on some 4 by 6 windows. Wet applied with no problems at all.

I was very uncomfortible(because I never do wet apply) wet applying it but thats what I was told and it turn out great.

bob

It's better to have two hands than one glove.
What tips or tricks can you offer? Should I use a particular premask for better results? Should I use a particular squeegee technique? Should I try the big squeegee?

It has little to do with whatever app tape you use, it's all squeegee technique.

First, let the squeegee put the media on the substrate. Always,