• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Graphic finishing laminator problems

I purchased a new graphic finishing laminator and it is getting a buckle in the middle about 3 feet in. I have only ran 8 foot of vinyl through it so far and ruined everything. Any suggestions for a newbie here. It is 54 inches and it is a cold laminator

GraphicsSource

Try taping it to a piece of rigid material or roll the print onto a core and laminate roll to roll so it has some tension on it.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

ejmoan

I call that the boat wake effect. When you roll your roll down where the laminate touches it should barely touch the roll of vinyl. You would want to roll it down touch and go back and forth with the crank handle until you feel only slight pressure. You will want to tighted the brakes on the laminate roll evenly on each end until you feel resistance as well. You also want to make sure your print roll is not binding. The roll of printed material needs to spin freely.

ejmoan

On the material feed roll I leave an 8th inch gap so the cardboard roll can spin freely but not be floppy. I also do no tighten brake on the print feed roll.

ejmoan

What type of laminator is it? We have a gfp 455th it has a roll that spins on the back side that we tape the edge of our material to and let it roll up on it as it feeds. Alternative could be a table that is the same height I use both.

What type of laminator is it? We have a gfp 455th it has a roll that spins on the back side that we tape the edge of our material to and let it roll up on it as it feeds. Alternative could be a table that is the same height I use both.
It’s a gfp 255c no take up roll. I was wondering why the table? Is it to just keep it clean?

ejmoan