• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hand Painted Septic Truck Tank

rlmercer

Hey everyone,

I have very little experience in the area of hand painted signs. We've been requested to paint the attached graphic on a separate 4200 gallon septic truck tank. A friend in the industry will be painting this for me, but I'm not sure how much to charge the customer. It will be both sides and a small graphic on the back.

Thanks in advance!

Ryan

Attachments

• DSCN3600 copy.jpg
    DSCN3600 copy.jpg
    130.7 KB · Views: 196

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Well, I'm not about to break the code of giving numbers out on a public site, but you ought to re-think that layout. It doesn't sell anything but Woody's and I don't think there's a lot of people in that market these days advertising 'woody's' for sale.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Agreed for both of you. But, it's not my layout, and they specifically requested hand painted.

Well, since you have no control and can't do anything , why don't you take this thread into the pricing section where at least outsiders can't see pricing ?? :thumb:

Jillbeans

If you have little or no experience in hand painting signs and vehicle lettering, you need to refer the job to someone who knows how to do it.
What I charge, after 29 years of painting signs, is probably considerably more than a client would be willing to pay someone with little or no experience.
How do you plan to get the artwork on to the truck? Projection? Grid?
Paint mask would be cost-prohibitive.
Prep would also be key.
Do you know anything about which paint you would use? Would it hold up to the cleaning process required on these tanks?
I bid on a truck like this last spring and I think the client had a heart attack, because it is still sitting unlettered.