• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help! Color issues when printing with Roland VS-300, grays come out pink and green

psychopat

Hey guys,

I purchased a used Roland VS-300 printer recently. I work in the video game business and I am familiar with the design side (using the Adobe suite). Was planning to use it for promotional material and video game arcade projects / restoration.

Initially when I first used the printer, the gray seemed ok. Then a few days later the same Versawork file started to print differently. By doing some cleaning I was still able to get the gray back, however the next day after when I was about to use it it was printing with a pink tint over again. I did tons of research trying to source the problem. Here's what I did so far:

1) Replaced all the ink cartridges for new ones (also shook them before inserting them)
*I did some searches on the forums and someone else had similar issues and it was due to the ink.

2) Initially when I was getting a pink tint, I was able to do a normal cleaning, medium, then 1 or 2 powerful cleaning (if necessary) until the colors were back to normal. However this no longer work now.
3) By printing test Roland files and also some print tests, it appears like the nozzles are ok (except the silver that is a bit clogged, the others seem good). However from my prints, I thought everything was tinted pink but I also noticed issues with dark colors and the gray using Roland charts. See my print tests here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/38670017/20160314---print-test.jpg (also attached)

a) You can see that my prints all came out a little pink.
b) The dark colors seems to have some horizontal lines in them (its not showing here, but I get similar lines when I try printing solid metallic)