• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

How long can you go?

letterman7

Apparently, about 9 years. My 1204 finally blew the head after all that time. I knew I was running on borrowed time when the 'lifetime head' started flashing last year. Finally lost the black channel this morning. In those 9 years, very little had been done to the machine - a Y motor (twice), a cable (I think), and pinch rollers. Waiting on the quote to have it refurbed...

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
As a tech I see 3 to 5 years as an average for head life expectancy. It seems to be a combination of proper maintenance and pure luck. The oldest working head I have seen was 13 years old in a Mutoh ValueJet and the guy just kept really good care of it and ran the printer every day.

ikarasu

How much are heads on your machine?

Our Seiko needed all 8 heads replaced. Well, 7, one was replaced a few months prior. The tech said they generally last 4-5 years. Sometimes way longer, but average is 4-5 years, so ours was nearing the end of life. We could get by using 2-3 of them, but in order to bring the printer back up to spec and print without banding, we'd need to replace all 7. We were quoted about 4K per head. Thats $32,000.... every 4-5 years? we asked if he was crazy... that's $6,400 a year for heads.

It's one of the reasons I hate Eco-solvent and prefer latex. I can buy a brand new Latex 570 for that price.

Are mutoh heads way cheaper? or do you guys pay a a ton of cash every 3-5 years? We ":Refreshed" our heads with some used ones, and it's working fine, but it's on borrowed time. Thinking of getting a latex... but I do like how solvent prints look better, when the heads are perfect.

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide