• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

How long can you let an Eco-Sol printer sit?

czwalga

I own www.lightningcornhole.com we make electronic scoring conhole boards. I bought a Mutoh Prismjet and a graphtec Vinyl cutter in a package deal. I've been using the vinyl cutter for about 6 months; haven't even turned on the prismjet for fear of ruining it. (It was used in good running condition then had the cleaning cartridges ran before I bought it).

I'm finally at the point where I would like to start printing orders mainly for cornhole board wraps... but I'm worried that I won't be doing enough printing to keep this thing running properly. I know there's a daily self clean, but i'm sure thats not good enough to just sit there for a week or two without anything happening. Would it be enough to just do a test print once a week, to waste very little vinyl?

The idea of selling the printer and outsourcing isn't a great idea either... the quotes i've received are more than what I can sell the wraps and custom work for. Not to mention the extra travel and logistics. Any suggestions?

Turn it on and run it ASAP!

Literally the worst thing you can do with any solvent printer is not print (assuming that inks are in the machine). After sitting six months in a powered off state I would expect that you will need to perform a series of cleanings and probably purges and hopefully you might be able to get it back into a production-ready state, without having to replace printheads etc. Good luck.

J Hill Designs

find a wholesale to the trade printer to outsource - if they are still priced more than you can sell the things for, you are TOO CHEAP

:thumb:

czwalga

Turn it on and run it ASAP!