• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

How to reduce image quality for photos in Corel

Stacey K

I like making signs
I'm no photo expert - get that out of the way first. I'm making 4'x8' signs for the baseball field. A designer sent me a file that was 74mb large. It's comprised of a banner across with the business info and 3 separate photos underneath. She also has another layer with all of it saved as one bitmap. Am I able to reduce the resolution of the 3 photos if so how do I do that in Corel? Or should I ask her to do it? 300 is plenty good. When I zoom in I can darn near count the dust particles in the photo on the product they are advertising - for real. Usually I'm dealing with crappy photos but at 300' from the stands there's no need for such detail, nobody will see it. Thank you!

myront

CorelDRAW is best
300dpi is overkill. We usually don't send prints higher than 150dpi. Select the bitmap then choose Bitmap/Resample from the top menu. Another thing we do when exporting for print, if exporting as tiff, is set the compression type to LZW Compression. This will cut the file save down tremendously. What size dimensionally is the banner?

Stacey K

I like making signs
300dpi is overkill. We usually don't send prints higher than 150dpi. Select the bitmap then choose Bitmap/Resample from the top menu. Another thing we do when exporting for print, if exporting as tiff, is set the compression type to LZW Compression. This will cut the file save down tremendously. What size dimensionally is the banner?
It worked! That wasn't so hard, thank you for the quick reply!!

ikarasu

Now that you have an answer I won't be derailing the thread!

Just curious... How come you guys downsize? Is it to save space, processing time when ripping? Or something else?