• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question HP Latex 300 Calibration

MF Matthew

"Give me PRINTING or give me DEATH"
Here is an interesting question that I don't know if anyone can answer. I am not new to the printing world, but have learned a lot over the years. I'm new to Signs 101, and it my first post, and not sure how to go about posting a question in the correct topic, but I was wondering about calibration. I have 2 HP Latex machines, Latex 360 and Latex 335. I have 2 RIP software. I use Onyx 12 for both, but also have Flexi 12, which is strictly for the L335, due to it being a Print & Cut system. I have noticed that when I print from Onyx and then from Flexi, that the color comes out different. I don't mean a whole noticeable shade, but it is noticeable to me.
I don't design files, just produce them, so this perplexes me. How can I properly calibrate my equipement so that I don't have to worry about color issues, as much? If I have a pantone swatchbook and was given Pantone Cyan, to match, why is it a issue to get those values to hit the correct color?
I clean, calibrate, change printheads, etc... on a regular basis to ensure accuracy, yet can't get exactly what I'm looking for, which may be impossible at this point in time.
I've seen X-rite and Spyder have calibration equipement and not sure if it is better than what the printers offer or what. I have contacted Sai, HP and Onyx and nobody can give me an exact answer and hope someone has knowledge on how to help.

Thanks,
Matthew

jwlllpl