• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Suggestions HP SCitex fb750 VS CET Q5-500h

TheBoxMan

I am looking to purchase a large printer. Which is a better machine, the HP SCitex fb750 or CET Q5-500h?
I plant to use it mostly for printing on large sheets of cardboard for prototyping boxes. I work in the packaging industry. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

TheBoxMan

Thanks for the replies everyone. We are purchasing a Kongsberg cutting table to pair with one of these printers as well. This is quite an expensive investment for us. The CET printer comes in almost 40k less than the HP printer. Is the HP worth spending the extra money on or do you think the CET printer would be fine? We plan on doing small production runs with the printer and cutting table. Maybe 50 or so printed boxes at a time.

TheBoxMan

That is very true. The Esko table will be a workhorse for our company. A lot of our production runs will not have print, which is why we want to save on the purchase of the printer. We will use the Esko table to cut triple wall board at times and we are getting it set up to cut foam as well. There wasn't really any other brand of table that we found that could meet our variety of needs while being able to run 10+ hours a day.

Robert Gruner

Boxman,
The HP FB750 is right up your alley for your application. The Esko is a very nice flatbed cutter, as is the Zund. However, I would implore you to look closely at the new Summa F1832 Flatbed cutter. It will do everything the Esko or Zund will do at a lower price point.