• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

HP9000 banding issue

HIGHTEC

I'm looking for individuals that own HP 9000 printers. Or a techician out there that does regularly work on them. I'm a technician on the printers and I have an issue with one of them that I think I know the issue. This printer is printing horizonal line 6 to 12 in. in length to the right of the printer. Toward the wiping station, not the capping station. Via the 64 in. platen printing area. Standing in front of the printer looking 35 to 40 in. way from the capping station. There a small area to the right that is printing horizonal. I think it the encoder strip., one other technician stated it was the vibration of the carriage when it stop and coming back to the capping station, possible bad rollers. But the carriage seem tight and there visual damage. Or the encoder strip sensor is dirty. Possibly with lint or dirt. Anyone come across this, these are not vertical banding lines like a media feed issue or bad nozzle checks but a horizonal line coming at you if you are standing in front of the printer. I'm sure someone else out there has seen this and figured it out.

Hightec Digital
916-990-9803

tbaker

you have a picture you can show? this wouldn't be the weirdest thing I've seen these models exhibit, but it would come close.

drive

+1 for pix. i'm guessing it could be the encoder or carriage cables. my seiko 64s performed similar tricks recently. but pics would really help

MachServTech

I would recommend dis-assembly of the carriage and checking the carriage track for buildup which causes vibrations in a specific print area...like speed-bumps which can create pattens in the print. It can also be the bearing wheels on the carriage.

tbaker