• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help I Need A Plan B For My Failed Installation Of Foam Letters

calbanner

mini_Previous Logo lasted 10Yrs. +.jpg mini.jpg mini_IMG_2163.jpg mini_IMG_2164.jpg mini_IMG_2165.jpg mini_Previous Logo lasted 10Yrs. +.jpg

Hello Fellow signmakers,
Although I have been making and installing signs for 31 years, I am still learning and need
your suggestions for a better installation for these foam letters with plexiglas face.

I previously had made this type of letters before and they lasted 10 years plus.

This logo is falling off after 8 months.
Letters are 2 inch thick dense foam (not bead)
Foam was painted with Glidden brand primer (Gripper) front and back.
1/8 inch acrylic glued to foam with Dow Corning 732 clear silicone adhesive.
Wall was painted with exterior Behr paint from Home Depot. Paint is sticking well to wall.
Logo and letters glued to wall with Dow Corning 732 clear silicone adhesive and some 3M VHB Tape.
The section that fell off did not break.
The wall had no silicone residue and had a couple of sections of VHB Tape still hanging on.
The silicone removed pretty easily from the back of the foam logo.

So it appears my adhesive is not working well in this situation, although i have been
successful with the mounting method previously.

My thoughts for a Plan B remount of logo is:
Remove all silicone adhesive from both surfaces and wipe clean.
Paint back of foam and wall where logo goes using one shot enamel paint.
Add 4-5 plastic anchors into wall per section and leave a 1-1/2 screw sticking
out with the head cut off.
Slam logo over the screws sticking out and adhear again with adhesive. (not sure which though)