• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

I want to cut my own designs

tikis-in-space

My question as a complete newbie is - HOW?

I've been reading threads on here and going through search but I'm not sure on the terminology or keywords to look up so I really apologize if this question has been asked a thousand times.

I have flexi8 only because it came with my cutter. I see all through it where to print fonts and more but cannot find how to configure and cut my own designs..

I'm willing to look, read and learn. I just need to be pointed in the right direction.

What program do I need in order to cut out one of my own designs? Like if I were to draw something, scan it into my computer and get it ready to cut - what all does that entail or does anyone have a link explaining the process?

What key words or phrases should I familiarize myself with in order to find information on things like this??

I just want to make simple cut out stickers that I created and I just don't know where to start. Can you recommend specific programs?

Thank you so much.

TheSnowman

You have the program. I will tell ya before others start freakin' on ya, do more searching it's all here.

Rhino

Um, I think a starting point would be to learn the difference between raster and vector images. Hint: your cutter will not cut raster images.

When you scan a drawing, it's a raster image. You will have to convert the image to a vector image and seperate the colors for your cutter to cut one at a time.

Rick

Certified Enneadecagon Designer
My question as a complete newbie is - HOW?

I've been reading threads on here and going through search but I'm not sure on the terminology or keywords to look up so I really apologize if this question has been asked a thousand times.