• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

If your not growing, your dying.

Farmboy

I've heard this saying in the past and have wondered everyone's thought's on it. It seems most on here are one person shops and your happy that way. So do you feeling like your dying or you're right where you wanna be? There was a thread a few days ago about how flooded the market is for this business, I was just looking through our local business paper and they just happened to have the top ten local sign companies in my area listed by employee size. The top one has 35 and the next was 20. The top one's have been around for over 30 years. The last one on the top ten had 3 people. I've been doing this for 10 years and have had as many as 6 and as few as 1 (me). I don't feel I'm dying, but I do feel at times like I'm just treading water. I have yet to hit that comfort zone where the business takes care of it's self. Is it out there? I'm pretty happy with the 2 people that work with me now (over 6 years together). Hmm, I seem to have gone off topic...so I'll end this here.

Fitch

Hi Farmboy, great (and contencious) topic.

Don't think you will really get an absolute answer.

However:
Many can turn around and say " I turned over2 million last year ". Sounds impressive. But can I say that there are people that have "been there... done that". Fortunately I am not one of them by choice.

I think only a very few make it big and make it successful. By "successful", I mean without health issues (worry / stress), family problems, the business running them rather than them running the businesss, the growth and renewal of assets (without debt) and of course outside influences such as technology and commercial exterior climates such as the GFC.