• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

I'm a newbie and need help. Mac computer with a Roland CM-24

oneearthjc

Hi!
I just bought a used Roland CM-24 from someone who used it with a PC, but I have a Mac. I bought a 25 pin-to-USB cable, but am not sure it will work. I am also in search of software. Any suggestions? It seems like SignCut might be my best bet. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Techman

good luck,, that is at least a 15 yr old machine,.

You may wish to look for a newer machine and spend the money on that instead of this very old technology.

oneearthjc

old machine

Thanks. I am hoping to get my feet wet with this machine which I bought as a package deal with other equipment before investing in a new machine.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Seems to me he was trying to warn you against doing what you are doing for a reason. :wink:

You're not getting your feet wet per se, but that you're standing in quicksand and you're gonna sink.

OldPaint

HERES YOUR PROBLEMS
1. THE MAC
2. COREL DONT WORK ON A MAC.
3. so now you got to do a whole bunch of other things to CUT VINYL.
SOLUTION:
1. get a PC................WITH ANYTHING FROM WIN98 TO WIN 7........32 BIT.........and a older copy of corel from 7 to X5.........and set the plotter up with the PRINTER PORT.........and your in business.............
2. continue to mess wit the mac, get another mac sign cutting program$$$$, special rs232 cable............AND MAYBE it will work)))))
3. YOUR CHOICE)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
OH............and just to inform you.........THERE IS NO ADVANTAGE to running a plotter FROM A MAC......it does nothing better then a PC WILL)))))))

oneearthjc

Thanks