• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

I'm a noob... again

vid

...so now I know even less of what I used to know.

I started a new job a couple weeks ago working in a commercial print shop. The shop had bought an HP 8000s inkjet printer a while back to satisfy the specific demands of a manufacturing customer. The customer manufactures motorized vending carts. Typically, the carts are pre-sold and then four printed advertising panels are installed for delivery. The layouts are designed by the end user or an agency.

After the print shop got their printer running and kicking out some prototypes, they had one demanding end user where they couldn’t quite match colors to spec. I was approached to help with a couple of the more complex samples as an outside consultant. --- I had previously, done a few prototype panels for the printer when he was brokering the work to the sign shop where I was employed.

Being in strictly the sign business 4-1/2 years, I had almost forgot about other aspects of display graphics. My previous tenure in the field was in garment printing and dabblings in commercial printing and occasional sign designs. For the most part, my career has been spent drawing “pictures” and putting it on posters, t-shirts, vehicles, and buildings, with a pleasing arrangement of graphic elements.

My most recent work at the sign shop, was more production oriented. I laid out a range of work from simple decals to monument signs becoming familiar with vinyl application, some modest fabrication and design work for electrical signs. Heck, I was getting real fat and sassy at the sign shop – good wage, good benefits, expanding company, bright future, generous employer and co-workers.