• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

JV33-160 Head Alignment?

jacksonsigns

I purchased a used jv33-160 recently and have not been real happy with the printing results so far. As far as I can tell I am having trouble getting the head aligned properly. Is there any detailed head alignment procedures available. Is the maintenance manual the best manual to use for this? I have been using Roland printers since 2000 and that is all I have to compare to. Roland has a "service" manual and it has very detailed instructions for head alignment, and it all seems very simple. I will attach a few photos. The first one is the test draw, not perfect but with my Roland experience this would produce a very good image. The next one is showing (I think) how far off the Bi Directional alignment is, and the third is showing some kind of "splatter" on the black ink. If I print a photo it actually looks decent but definitely not great.

Attachments

• IMG_1500.jpg
    IMG_1500.jpg
    24.5 KB · Views: 560
  • IMG_1497.jpg
    IMG_1497.jpg
    27.6 KB · Views: 438
  • IMG_1498.jpg
    IMG_1498.jpg
    41.3 KB · Views: 502

Vinylman

I am using the exact same printer.
You need to get the head CLEANER. To many nozzles plugged.

As for the alignment, it needs tweaked quite a bit.

I would definitely recommend the Mimaki service manual for direction. HOWEVER! trying to read the Japanese to english translations, I have found somewhat confusing {might be age related, LOL}.

Go slow and double check the reference marks. When properly configured your JV33 will print every bit as good or better than the Roland.

jacksonsigns