• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Laminator help

Pideas

I having some problems with my laminator that I'm hoping someone can help with. When I run my cold laminator, the film starts out nice and smooth. As I am half through laminating my print, i start getting wrinkles in the film. I'm very new to using a laminator so I hope this is an easy fix. See attached photos.

Any suggestions on what adjustments I can make to correct this issue?

Last edited:

Mysticalvibes

Hi, I would definitely recommend you reduce the pressure of the top roller until it just grips and no more. When I adjust out laminator using a revolving handle on the side it goes loose whenever just the weight of the roller is on the material. I then turn it an extra quarter turn. Any more than that and the material wrinkles just like you mention. Also check if there is an adjustment for resistance on the media holders, this can also cause problems. Best of luck, Davy :)

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Jayefkay531

We still utilize an old Seal cold laminator for small runs. We had the same issues like this pop up a few years back and realized it was uneven tension on the upper roller. Anything over a six or seven foot run would start to ripple like this. Assuming your ripples always follow the same pattern as your pictures, I believe it means the left side has more tension (pressure) than the right side. The only way to fix it is with trial and error - adjust the tension spring on the right side a quarter turn at a time and run backing paper through with no laminate. Continue to do so until there is even pressure and it's running through nice and evenly.

DoubleDiamond